Camosun Capilano CotR CBC Douglas Kwantlen Langara Quest UBC Okanagan UCFV VIU

Welcome to the Frontpage

E-mail Print PDF



The Blues Athletics & Recreation Department

Drew Venables has been named head coach of the Capilano University Blues men’s volleyball team. 

Venables’s coaching resume includes head coach positions with Volleyball BC U-19 men’s program and

assistant coach positions with Thompson Rivers University, Vancouver Island University and Capilano


“After a broad search, we are excited to bring Drew on board. He brings a solid mix of academic and

technical knowledge backed by a passion and love for the sport. We are looking for some great things to

come for Drew and our program,” says Milt Williams, Manager, Dept. of Athletics and Recreation.

"I am excited to be joining the CapU Blues family as a head coach. I look forward to working with

the players and administration to put forth a complete program, which boasts academic, athletic and 

personal excellence. Venables says. “As a coach I value honesty, hard work, and achievement athletically

and academically. My goals as a coach are to achieve success both on the floor and in the classroom.”

Drew, holds a National Coaching Certification Program Level 2 theory (level 3 in progress), was a past 

National Team member, past European Professional player, and currently is one of the head instructors

at the Volleyball Canada Center of Excellence in North Vancouver. Drew also holds a Bachelor’s degree

in Arts from TRU.

For more information, contact:

Milt Williams 

Manager, Athletics and Recreation

Capilano University 

E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Visit our website:

Last Updated on Wednesday, 27 August 2014 14:50
E-mail Print PDF


Vancouver, BC – The Langara Falcons men’s basketball team won their first Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) national championship since consecutive titles in 1998 and 1999. The Falcons defeated the Red Deer College Kings 88-86 in a thrilling game, hosted by Quest University in Squamish. It was the second consecutive title for a PACWEST team; the Vancouver Island University Mariners were crowned champions last season.

Langara guard Brody Greig, hit 12/14 free throws – including 7/8 in the final minutes of the game – to finish with 24 points, 10 assists, and nine rebounds. Greig was named Most Valuable Player for the tournament. Forward Jitinder Lohcham added 20 points and eight rebounds, and forward Elliot Mason added 17 points. Lohcham was named to the first All-Star team, and Mason was named as a second team All-Star. The Falcons finished an uncharacteristic 3/20 from three-point range, but dominated the rebounding battle 55-39.

With the Red Deer Kings trailing 81-74 with less than a minute to play, Kings guard Lloyd Strickland hit three-pointers on four consecutive possessions. Each time, the Kings immediately fouled Greig who coolly drained his free throws at the other end, barely keeping the Falcons ahead. Following Greig’s last attempt, which fell short, Red Deer failed to get a shot off to force overtime.

The Falcons 29-23 first quarter lead was trimmed to 45-41 at halftime. The highest scoring offence in the country managed just 10 points in the third quarter against a stifling Kings defence, forcing multiple Langara turnovers. Trailing 61-55 after the third quarter, the Falcons overcame a late deficit to steal the win.

Langara reached the final after an equally dramatic overtime win in the semi-final versus the Vanier College Cheetahs. Trailing by 10 points with under two minutes to play, Elliot Mason hit three three-pointers to lead the comeback. The Falcons forced overtime before winning 103-102 on a last second layup by Greig.

The Falcons were seeded as the top team going into the tournament after finishing the season 20-1 and winning the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST) playoffs. In last year’s CCAA national championship, the Falcons were upset in the semi-finals and finished with a bronze medal.

Photo courtesy of CCAA and Vancouver Sports Pictures.

Watch Lloyd Strickland's four 3-pointers:

Last Updated on Wednesday, 19 March 2014 17:15
E-mail Print PDF

2012 PACWEST Soccer Award Winners

The 2012 PACWEST Soccer Award Winners have been announced.  Click here for full press release.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 October 2012 01:20
E-mail Print PDF

BCCAA changes name to PACWEST

PACWESTThe former British Columbia Colleges’ Athletic Association, commonly known as the BCCAA, is now the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST).

The new name better represents the membership of the association, which includes colleges and universities. “We are very proud to be carrying on the tradition of excellence in sport and education that the British Columbia Colleges’ Athletic Association has been known for. We feel the PACWEST name does an excellent job of identifying who we are and what we do and will give us a significant advantage as we implement our marketing plans. The PACWEST name and logo will soon be synonymous with athletic excellence in Canada” said Bruce Hunter, PACWEST President.

The first weekend of PACWEST soccer was completed on Sunday, September 11, 2011 with games being played across British Columbia. For weekend results and further information on the Pacific Western Athletic Association, please visit the new website,

PACWEST is comprised of 14 member institutions competing in soccer, volleyball, basketball, badminton, cross country running and golf.

PACWEST is a proud member of the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association.

Page 1 of 2

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »